Friday, January 15, 2010

Growing up?

Now that i'm 18 and in college I have, over the course of the past several months, since been contemplating what it means to become a responsible adult. The months leading up to college I had these ideas that when I got to college I would, like a microwave that just finished cooking a meal, DING! all of a sudden shirk my childish ways and don the new coat of adulthood.....Yep....I was wrong. But, I will say that I have learned a few things about being adult, the first thing being that there is much more to learn. But after that I learned that being an adult does not mean you have to "act" anything, or change your personality and always be serious and no fun. I think being an adult means that you implement the passage in ecclesiastes 3:1-15 into your life where the idea is that there is a time and place for everything, and what I mean by that is that as an adult you learn not that you have to lose your personality and resort to the mundane, but you just learn that there is a time to be goofy and have a good time and there is a time to work and be responsible. Now I am not claiming that I have this life all figured out and know how to be an adult, in fact I know I am far from it, thank God, after all im still ONLY 18, but I do feel that one aspect of stepping into adulthood is learning how to behave and that there is a time and place for everything and learning when those times are

Monday, January 11, 2010

Training to the edge

I been training for awhile and I was reading on AnimalPak.com as I usually do for inspiration and I read the latest article about training on the edge. The point of the article that this bodybuilding game is a sport of extremes, you train too light? You suck...You train too hard? You over train and still suck. The goal is to get as close to that edge without going over it...that's where success is found. So since I read that article I have approached training with that mindset, the mindset being that if your not gonna go hard, get out, and if your not going to play it smart and no when to quit, you too can get out. Also, I have approached training recently focusing not on the weight I am using , but on the form to attain the greatest pump, and testing to see if that will jump start my muscle mass gains. I have noticed too lately that I have gone through the motions a little bit. I have been guilty of doing squats just to say that I did them. I think from now on I'm gonna go back to the crazy stuff, the stuff nobody wants to do that plain works. I'm not gonna attempt to hit the muscle from every possible angle. I am just going to use the basic compound movements, Bench, Squat, Deadlift, but use the techniques that suck while doing them. These would be, strip sets, high rep/intensity sets, strict form, deep reps...all the things people seem to forget when they star getting addicted to numbers...
Until Next time

Saturday, January 9, 2010

The grass is always greener...or is it?

You know how they say that the grass is always greener on the other side, right? Well I think that that phrase is basically a different way of saying that folks want what they just can't have. Now, I'm not claiming that this is a unique concept that I have stumbled upon, I think actually it is fairly common knowledge for the most part. But what I would like to analyze is why people want what they can't have. The phenomena is very puzzling because I even notice it in my own life. So why is it that when our "girlfriend/boyfriend' breaks up with us we suddenly realize how much we really liked them and want them back, why is it that we have a good bench but want that great squat that someone else has, or why is it that people have a generally insatiable thirst for more "stuff"? Is it because people have an emptiness inside and feel that whatever it is that they don't have, if they get that thing, it will fill the void? I don't know, but the thing is that as Americans we are given certain unalienable rights among these being "Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness" and I think they nailed it when they wrote that because apart from God people will never feel satisfied or fulfilled and all they will ever have is a pursuit of happiness, but actual happiness will be just out of reach and people will forever be chasing that "green grass" just on the other side. So as I embark on another year, I will try to keep my focus that my purpose and fulfillment is not wrapped up in my successes, my have's and my have not's, but purpose is given to me because I have a relationship with the one true God.

Saturday, January 2, 2010

Poindexters with tank tops and old men with swimming trunks

On any typical day in the gym there is a plethora of outfits you see ranging from women wearing clingy spandex that should have been donated to "good will" four sizes ago to former high school athletes who seem to ignore that the years of binge drinking and fast food has taken away their "hot bod' they had from high school sports and still insist on wearing their under armor shirts that are so tight they look like they were poured into it, and not in a good way. The outfit I would like to focus on first is very common tank top being sported by all sorts of bodies. Now I am not out to make people feel bad, but like the show "what not to wear" (not that I watch it or anything) there are somethings you SHOULD wear given your given body type, and somethings you SHOULD NOT wear. The tank top is no exception. Every time I go to the gym I notice folks sportin' the tank top that simply should not. On one side of the spectrum, you have the guys who look like they could not fight their way out of a wet paper bag or might get blown over if they stand too close to the birthday cake while the candles are being extinguished. Then on the other side of the spectrum you got the bigg'ns who also should not try to squeeze into that tank top becuase they are the reason the tank top is also known as the "Wife Beater"...they look the part.
The next common sight that irks me is the old man sportin the swim trunks. I really don't have much to say except...Can that netting really be that comfortable on the boys? I doubt it. Besides, we aren't swimmin, unless its in your sweat and that isnt a pleasant thought either.
The last thing I would like to discuss is gloves. Gloves just aren't cool, When I see the fella's wearing gloves walkin around I can't help but think they look alot like this guy

and there is nothing cool about lookin like chuck e cheese when your trying to build a large physique...there just isn't...besides if you can't handle the callouses that come from lifting then you shouldn't be in there anyway

Until next time...


P.S.
Come to think of it, is Chuck wearing swimming trunks?